Just finished

IOI 2023 was hosted by Hungary. Visit the official website to learn more.

Just finished   IOI 2023 in Hungary


In this page, we present several committees which are part of the International Olympiad of Informatics - including a basic description, the members of each committee, and contact information.

International Committee

The International Committee (IC) is charged with overseeing the organization of the IOI.

The tasks of the IC are defined in the IOI Regulations, Statutes, Section S4.1. The main duty of the IC is to supervise the continuity of the IOI by

  • finding future host countries (allowing ample time for negotiations),
  • examining the organization of future IOIs (future hosts must regularly report to the IC on their progress),
  • solving problems encountered during the organization of an IOI (mostly of a political nature),
  • evaluating past IOIs,
  • adjusting the format and content of the IOI to ensure that the IOI goals will be met in the future.

The current members of the IC are:

2021 - 2024 Benjamin Burton, Australia bab_at_maths.uq.edu.au (IOI President, elected at IOI'21; 2014 - 2017: elected at IOI'14; 2018 - 2021: elected at IOI'18, Secretary 2020 - 2021)
2021 - 2024 J.P. Pretti, Canada secretary.ioinformatics_at_gmail.com (Secretary, non-voting, appointed in 2021)
2021 - 2024 Eljakim Schrijvers, The Netherlands eschrijvers_at_eljakim.nl (Treasurer, non-voting, appointed in 2010)
2022 - 2024 László Jobbágy, Hungary laszlo.jobbagy_at_gmail.com (host IOI'23)
2020 - 2025 Eslam Wageed, Egypt eslamwageed_at_gmail.com (host IOI'24; 2013 - 2020: elected at IOI'13, re-elected at IOI'16, host of postponed IOI'21)
2022 - 2026 Jhonatan Castro, Bolivia jhtan_at_jhtan.com (host IOI'25)
2023 - 2027 Makhliyo Muksinova, Uzbekistan m.muksinova_at_it-park.uz (host IOI'26)
2021 - 2024 Araz Yusubov, Azerbaijan ayusubov_at_ada.edu.az (elected at IOI'21; 2017 - 2021: host IOI'19)
2022 - 2025 Sun Teck Tan, Singapore tanst_at_comp.nus.edu.sg (elected at IOI'22; 2016-2022: host IOI'21)
2022 - 2025 Eduard Kalinicenko, Latvia eduardische_at_gmail.com (re-elected at IOI'22; 2018 - 2022: elected at IOI'18)
2023 - 2026 Sandra Schumann, Estonia sandra.schumann_at_ut.ee (elected at IOI'23)
2023 - 2026 Fredrik Niemelä, Sweden fredrik_at_niemela.se (elected at IOI'23, 2008 - 2011, elected at IOI'08)

You can view the minutes from the latest IC meetings by following this link.
You might also be interested in the Former members of the IC.

Scientific Committee

The International Scientific Committee (ISC) is charged with overseeing the competitions at the IOI. The ISC was established at the GA Meeting on October 14, 1999, at IOI'99 in Antalya-Belek, Türkiye.

The current members of the ISC are:

2023 - 2026 Ali Sharifi-Zarchi, Iran asharifiz_at_gmail.com (chair, elected at IOI'23; 2016 - 2021, host IOI'17, re-elected at IOI'18; 2012 - 2015, elected)
2020 - 2024 Zsolt Németh, Hungary nemeth_at_numanal.inf.elte.hu (host IOI'23)
2021 - 2025 Mahmoud Badawy, Egypt mahmoudbadawy2011_at_gmail.com (host IOI'24)
2022 - 2026 Miguel Ortiz, Bolivia ma.ortizmerida_at_gmail.com (non-voting, host IOI'25)
2021 - 2024 Michal Forišek, Slovakia misof_at_algo.sk (elected at IOI'21; 2006 - 2013: elected at IOI'06, re-elected at IOI'09, re-elected at IOI'12; 2014 - 2017: elected at IOI'14)
2022 - 2025 Agustín Santiago Gutiérrez, Argentina elsantodel90_at_gmail.com (elected at IOI'22)

You might also be interested in the Former members of the ISC.
PGP keys of current and past members of the ISC can be found here.

Technical Committee

The International Technical Committee (ITC), a long-term standing committee, works with each Host Country to ensure continuity and quality control of the IOI competition environment (hardware and software).

The ITC oversees the technical side of the contest: program development tools, evaluation software, hardware, networks and their security. It aims to monitor the advances in these fields, collect information relevant to the competition and develop new software if the available one is insufficient. It provides advice in technical matters to the International Scientific Committee and to the organizers of the present and future IOI's.

The current members of the ITC are:

2023 - 2026 Martin Mareš, Czech Republic (chair, re-elected at IOI'23; 2019 - 2023: re-elected at IOI'19; 2016 - 2019: elected at IOI'16)
2020 - 2024 László Nyúl, Hungary (host IOI'23)
2021 - 2025 Wael Ewida, Egypt (host IOI'24; 2018 - 2020: host IOI'21)
2023 - 2026 Omar Quispe Mita, Bolivia (host IOI'25)
2021 - 2024 Hamid Zarrabi-Zadeh, Iran (elected at IOI'21; 2016 - 2018: host IOI'17)
2022 - 2025 Amirkeivan Mohtashami, Iran (elected at IOI'22)

More information can be found on the ITC website.
You might also be interested in the Former members of the ITC.
PGP keys of current and past members of the ITC can be found here.

Need more info?


Not sure where to go? Click here to view some basic information on how to learn programming and prepare to win a medal at the IOI.


A couple of volunteers maintain a separate page with stats about people who participated at the International Olympiad in Informatics.


The IOI publishes a journal every year, with original high-quality scientific papers related to education, contests and algorithms.