Coming soon

Due to COVID-19, IOI 2021 will be hosted by Singapore online. Visit the official website to learn more.

Coming soon   IOI will take place online

Service Awards

Since 2002, Distinguished Service Awards have been given to members of the IOI community for their outstanding service.
Here is a list of all awards winners:

2019 Recipients:

  • Eljakim Schrijvers
  • Göktürk Üçoluk

2016 Recipients:

  • Richard Forster
  • Jari Koivisto

2015 Recipient:

  • Donald Theodore Piele (Post Mortem)

2014 Recipient:

  • Michal Forišek

2012 Recipient:

  • Prof. Blagovest Sendov

2011 Recipient:

  • Wolfgang Pohl

2010 Recipient:

  • Zide Du

2009 Recipient:

  • Rob Kolstad

2008 Recipients:

  • Michael Cotter
  • Vladimir Kiryukhin

2007 Recipient:

  • Tom Verhoeff

2006 Recipient:

  • Lionel Hartmann (Post Mortem)

2005 Recipients:

  • Clara Ionescu
  • Péter Hanák
  • Krassimir Manev

2004 Recipients:

  • Pavel Azalov

2003 Recipients:

  • Ries Kock
  • Håkan Stromberg
  • Vladimir Kiryukhin

2002 Recipients:

  • Stanisław Waligórski
  • Peter Heyderhoff
  • Emilia Ratobylskaya
  • Wenhu Wu

Long-term service
Several people have been thanked for their long-term service to the IOI community. Those include:

  • Teng Lam (2017)
  • Jørgen E. G. Nielsen (2017)
  • Knud Fjeldsted (2019)
  • Gyula Horváth (2019)
  • Mario Cruz (2019)
  • Vladimir Kiryukhin (2019)

Need more info?


Not sure where to go? Click here to view some basic information on how to learn programming and prepare to win a medal at the IOI.


A couple of volunteers maintain a separate page with stats about people who participated at the International Olympiad in Informatics.


The IOI publishes a journal every year, with original high-quality scientific papers related to education, contests and algorithms.