Just happened

IOI 2018 took place in Japan in September, 2018. More info is available on the official website.

Just happened   IOI 2018 in Japan

History of the ITC

The predecessor of the International Technical Committee, the IOI Software Team was established at the GA Meeting on October 14, 1999, at IOI'99 in Antalya-Belek, Turkey. For that purpose, the IOI Regulations were amended.

At IOI'03 the organization for technical matters was changed, and an IOI Technical Working Group (ITWG) was defined. The ITWG is set up and supervised by, and it reports to, the ISC.

ITWG was run by:

  • 2003 - 2006, Jyrki Nummenmaa (Finland)
  • 2006 - 2016, Martin MareŇ° (Czech Republic)

Former Members of IOI Technical Committee: 

  • Stefano Maggiolo, Italy (2016 - 2018, elected at IOI2016)
  • Sergey Masyagin, Russian Federation (2016 - 2017, host'16)
  • Kian Mirjalali, Iran (2016, host'17)
  • Bernard Blackham, Australia (2016 - 2018, elected at IOI'16, re-elected at IOI'17)
  • Masaki Hara, Japan (2016 - 2018, host IOI'18)
  • Hamid Zarrabi-Zadeh, Iran (2016 - 2018, host IOI'17)

Need more info?


Not sure where to go? Click here to view some basic information on how to learn programming and prepare to win a medal at the IOI.


A couple of volunteers maintain a separate page with stats about people who participated at the International Olympiad in Informatics.


The IOI publishes a journal every year, with original high-quality scientific papers related to education, contests and algorithms.